News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

Changing out an AC compressor, questions.

Started by MeToo, November 29, 2022, 01:43:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MeToo

I'm in the process of changing the AC compressor on a 1976 Fleetwood, but a few things occurred to me that I'm not sure about as I haven't done this sort of job before and I'm an amateur who learns by experience.

1.Using the amount of oil drained from the old one to guide how much to put in the new one won't work here. The old compressor had no literally no oil in it, its been 3 days since the drain plug was removed and nothing. It seems it must have leaked out through the compressor seals. A while after it had seized, I noticed an unidentified liquid on the water pump, it definitely wasn't coolant or engine oil. Hmmm

2.I understand after changing the compressor, you then drive to a shop to get it vacummed, then R-134 is added which I'm told is blended with PAG oil anyway. If this is the case, then why put oil in the new compressor when its installed-especially if its going to get vacummed out and then replaced when the refrigerant is added anyway?

3. I thought I would also take the opportunity while the belt is off anyway to replace the belt since it hasn't been replaced in the time I owned it and there are small cracks in the grooves. However it is behind the alternator/waterpump belt so it seems I can't get it out unless I also remove the alternator/waterpump belt? Is there an easier way to get the compressor belt out for replacing?