News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

1970 Eldorado air / shock questions

Started by johnnyrock70, August 23, 2016, 06:12:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

johnnyrock70

Ok, I'm a newbie. Excuse my ignorance. can I completely disregard the whole air pump thing on my '70 Eldorado and just replace my old shocks and no longer worry about using the air to raise the car?
If so...can somebody give me a recommendation for a brand of shocks?
PS - the rear of the car raises when I put air into the valve at the rear bumper, but lowers back down after several days.

Scot Minesinger

This is a subject of considerable discussion and if you search you will find many opinions.

I'm with you, bought a set of shocks specifically designed for the application on Rock Auto that were not air shocks and it was fine.  You can adjust front height of car via torsion bar adjustments if the car does not sit level (did not have to do this).

Everyone else is against me though as you will read in response thereafter, but your question is answered by someone who did as you thought and it worked great.  I really cannot stand the idea of manually filling the shocks (even if they held air for a year) to raise car and manually letting air out to lower, this makes driving a hassle, an extra step.  Put six people in the car, add air, the exit, let air out - really????  The shocks from Rockauto worked very well on the 72 Eldorado.
Fairfax Station, VA  22039 (Washington DC Sub)
1970 Cadillac DeVille Convertible
1970 Cadillac Sedan DeVille
1970 four door Convertible w/Cadillac Warranty

TJ Hopland