News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

1941 60 Special wood sills

Started by E.Johnson, March 13, 2020, 12:35:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

E.Johnson

This is a follow-up to a 1941 60 Special restoration thread last updated by its author, Paul Phillips, about six years ago.  I posted a reply on the thread, not realizing it would likely not be read because of the amount of time since its last post.  So, here it is, as a new question.  (Yes, I'm fairly new at this...)

I bought a 1941 60 Special over a year ago and have been working on it ever since.  It was billed as an "excellent driver" but was far from that.

Has anyone commissioned a "remanufacture" of the wood sills (between the central part of the body and the frame), and if so, are any available?  If not, does anyone have drawings or templates for the wood sills Paul fabricated or had fabricated?  If so, I would be interested in obtaining a copy of them.  I don't know yet that the sills in my car will need to be replaced, but given the state of neglect I've found in the rest of the car I would not be surprised, and it would be great to have new sills or plans or templates from which to build a new set of sills.

What wood was used for the sills?

Thank you in advance for your reply.

Eric Johnson

Quentin Hall