News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

Getting 1984 Cadillac El Dorado Biarritz Convertible to pass smog check in CA

Started by uscmoore, March 20, 2024, 02:10:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

uscmoore

Hello Forum. I am new to this association. I truly appreciate any help that anyone can offer...

Briefly, I purchased a 1984 Cadillac El Dorado Biarritz Convertible from a close family friend within 3 years ago.  She was elderly and kept the car under a tarp, unregistered for about 9 years. I knew the car was beautiful (original everything) but had no idea if if ran or what it would take to register and get it operable. I took car to a local Cadillac mechanic and we came up with a budget to just get it running.  He was amazing and got everything going on budget. He said I got lucky because the engine was it great working order. When I registered it two years ago plus I had to get it smogged for CA. It passed. And then he went out of business...

That leads me to this post. It had 65,000 original miles at purchase. I have only put on less than 3000 miles since then. It is time to get it smogged again per CA requirements. I didn't think there would be an issue. Well, for example, the CO level allowed in CA is .51.  My car tested at 5.50. That is a not great!