News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

194760S

Started by cay30ford, August 21, 2011, 08:58:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cay30ford

I have been restoring this car for the last 15 years and I am finally about done.  But I have one issue I can't overcome.  It is hard to start.  I have the 6 volt battery at peak change (I leave a trickle charger on it) and it barley turns the engine. The engine is completely redone with about 10 miles on it since rebuild.  I tried a 900 amp Optima and it helps a little. My question is " Is the starting system supposed to be this bad?"..  I have a Model A with a 6 volt system and it cranks over great.  I do now its a much larger engine but am I missing something?

Art C :-

pauldridge

Art,

Frequently newly rebuilt engines are quite tight, which may be causing greater than normal friction and resistance to the starter.  I'd make sure you have a good solid ground connection from the battery (perhaps run a cable right to one of the starter bolts, then take it for a good 100-200 mile run, I'll bet your starting issues will disappear.
Phil Auldridge
Austin, TX
1940 60S as well as MGA, Stingray, '39 Ford Coupe, BMW 3.0 CS, '59 Jaguar, '51 Hudson Hornet, '64 and '70 Mercedes roadsters, and Nash-Healey LeMans Coupe
[img]http://www.auldridge.org/images/hdricon.jpg[/img]

Jay Friedman

I would make also sure that there is minimal electrical resistance in the starting circuit, which is of particular importance in a 6 volt system.  I did the following to my '49 OHV engine which was having the same problem after rebuilding: