News:

Reminder to CLC members, please make sure that your CLC number is stored in the relevant field in your forum profile. This is important for the upcoming change to the Forums access, which the board has delayed until May 15th to give users who are not CLC members time to sign up for the club, More information can be found at the top of the General Discussion forum. To view or edit your profile details, click on your username, at the top of any forum page. Your username only appears when you are signed in.

Main Menu

1966 Coupe DeVille Wiring, Engine/Idle Questions

Started by Aki, July 25, 2020, 04:22:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Aki

Hello all, 1st time Cadillac owner here. My background is mostly injected, turbocharged Subaru racing so this is a whole new world to explore. I have to say, it's already a joy to work on these cars with how much room they have for activities!

I've done some searching around on here but have run across a few things where some direction would be helpful. I did pick up a FSM so can reference the wiring diagrams, etc. once I know what I'm looking at, or what might be missing.

Wiring:
I have found a few areas where it looks like some accessories might have been removed or previous modifications un-done. I suspect the car had some more aftermarket stereo equipment than still remains (deck and 2x door speakers). I found some very modern wire and an inline fuse holder near the battery, the other end of which terminates somewhere behind the dash. I found a loose ground terminal near the battery and said inline fuse. Also, right next to that ground and fuse is what looks like some stock wiring harness that's unplugged. It's right next to the alternator; unsure if related to the aftermarket stuff or not.