News:

The changes to make the forums only allow posting by CLC members have been completed. If you are a CLC member and are unable to post, please send the webmaster your CLC number, forum username and the email in your forum profile for reinstatement to full posting and messaging privileges.

Main Menu

75 elsorado hesitation and poss misfire?

Started by Doug Spingelt, March 15, 2009, 02:01:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Doug Spingelt

I just replaced the fuel pump and and spark plugs and the car is running pretty well.  there is still an issue on accelleration.  if I hit the gas hard at all the car has a strong hesitation.  Also whe idoling, it seems like it is misfiring or someting. it is smooth, but has a blib in it that you can feel anb hear.  It is hard to explain.  I am wondering if it could be timing? Carb adjustment?  I have never worked on a carb before.  Thank for your advice.   
Doug Spingelt

TJ Hopland

How well does it start?   I wonder if the accelerator pump is working.   If you look down the carb ( you will have to hold the choke open if its cold) and stroke the throttle you should see a squirt of gas coming out each side going down the throat of the carb.  How long has it been since the carb has been gone through?   About 10 years is the max I have seemed to get out of any of mine before there starts to be issues even under the best conditions.   5 years is more average before they seem to benifit from a good cleaning and some new soft parts.