News:

Please note that, while reinstating users, I have noticed that a significant majority have not yet entered a Security (Secret) Question & Answer in their forum profile. This is necessary for a self-service (quick) password reset, if needed in the future. Please add the Q&A in your profile as soon as possible

Main Menu

62’ Bendix Master Cylinder.

Started by Ruztytin, October 07, 2023, 03:32:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ruztytin

Hello,

Has anyone here rebuilt a 62'-63' IMG_8368.jpegBendix master cylinder before?

I have a dual port 617398 master cylinder and I can't seem to remove the plunger from it.

I removed the retainer clip but it won't pull out. Am I missing something, or is it just stuck in there?

Also, is there a search feature for the forum? I wanted to search the topic but I couldn't seem to find a way of doing so.

Thanks in advance.
61' Series 75 Limousine x2
71' Coupe DeVille
68' Mercury Monterey
00' Lincoln Limousine
06' Mini R53

The Tassie Devil(le)

In most cases I have had when rebuilding any Master Cylinder is that it involves a lot of holding the unit in one hand, and not-so-carefully, bashing the case down onto a hard surface, leaving sufficient room for the plunger to "drop" out when the body suddenly stops.

These old units can have a lot of build-up inside them, making the piston hard to remove.

Some times, I have had to do some encouraging by pushing the piston back in, and banging, again and again.

A word of CAUTION.    Keep the fingers clear, and wrap the unit with a rag, so that any spurts of brake fluid cannot spray out everywhere.

Bruce. >:D 
'72 Eldorado Convertible (LHD)
'70 Ranchero Squire (RHD)
'74 Chris Craft Gull Wing (SH)
'02 VX Series II Holden Commodore SS Sedan
(Past President Modified Chapter)

Past Cars of significance - to me
1935 Ford 3 Window Coupe
1936 Ford 5 Window Coupe
1937 Chevrolet Sports Coupe
1955 Chevrolet Convertible
1959 Ford Fairlane Ranch Wagon
1960 Cadillac CDV