News:

The changes to make the forums only allow posting by CLC members have been completed. If you are a CLC member and are unable to post, please send the webmaster your CLC number, forum username and the email in your forum profile for reinstatement to full posting and messaging privileges.

Main Menu

1991 Fleetwood FWD Shocks

Started by eldorado75@aol.com, May 29, 2023, 10:56:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

eldorado75@aol.com

Morning all & Happy Memorial Day. Thanks to any club members who fought & served our great nation.

I have a confession to make - this is my first post so go easy on me.

I have a highly optioned 1991 FWD Fleetwood. I am not a mechanic but have a good one at my disposal. I wanted him
to replace all 4 shocks/struts on the car and we learned a few things:

All 4 of them have electrical connections going to them.

My Service Parts ID sticker says I have both FE1 & FX3. I believe this means I have computer command ride CCR & level ride compressor.

We are having a hard time finding exact replacements. Does not sound like they exist anymore? 

Does anyone have experience or suggestions on which ones I should use as replacements?  My compressor still works so I want to stay with an air shock, buy what do we do with the electrical connectors to fool my computer into thinking they are plugged in so I don't keep getting suspension codes on the dash lights.

Lastly I'd love to get the electroluminescent badges on the sail panels to work. Too much trouble?  A unicorn to find? 

I'm not worthy of your expertise, but I'd sure love someone to impart some wisdom here.

Kind Regards - Don Dulkoski

Eric DeVirgilis CLC# 8621

The electronic struts have been discontinued long ago. Just order standard struts for DeVille which will work and ride fine. I believe Level Ride was standard on all C-body DeVilles/Fleetwoods so replacements for the rear should have air line fittings allowing that portion of the suspension system to remain operative.